Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Monday, October 29, 2012

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Local Art

I had occasion to pass this painting while on the second floor of South Peninsula Hospital. Of course, the cat caught my eye' The young woman is dressed in the manner of our local "Old Believers" sect of the Orthodox church. Her demure clothing doesn't stop her from being Alaskan to the core when the salmon are running. The ever-present summer sun looks down on a quintessentially local scene.

Monday, October 22, 2012

Looking Back

Twenty-nine years ago.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Falling Winter


It started snowing on Monday, and by Tuesday morning, it looked like winter. On the back porch by the woodshed.




We went to sleep in autumn and when we woke up, winter had come.

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Friday, October 12, 2012

Friday, October 05, 2012